The Little White Dog.

6 Feb

Today was a day of oscillations and rotations. After going around and, back and forth Patan in search of a gift for my friend’s girlfriend, I was headed home, walking through Pulchowk. In front of the digital clock of Everest Bank, I saw a small white pup trying to cross the road. Just as I was thinking of crossing the road with the pup to let it get across, a car hit the pup right on its face and the left front leg. The pup yowled as I screamed along. The vehicle simply moved on without a pause.

I approached the still wailing pup. It was holding up its left front leg and didn’t seem to be able to put it down or walk. Never having faced such a situation, I didn’t know what to do. I carried it aside and to a near-by store, bought a packet of biscuits that it refused to eat. It still was not putting its feet down. I felt around its leg for broken bones and though no expert, I could feel none. I called up my friend to ask for a vet in the vicinity. I was directed towards the one near the Central Zoo.

I picked up my furry little friend and walked towards the vet, where they were nice enough to just charge me for the painkiller administered and no doctor’s fees. They suggested I either take the dog back home or back where I found it. Struggling between my want to keep a pet and my parents’, specially my dad’s unwillingness to let me do so, and fueled by the pup’s relatively healthy outlook, I took him back to Pulchowk.

Along the way, I met people who recognized the dog and informed me about how it walked about too much, which made me realize that it would not have liked my place very much with very little space to walk about. I have been accused of caring too much. I was glad that I had cared just enough this time ‘round.

Somewhere in Pulchowk, this dog that liked to walk started to struggle in my arms. I let him down at the stupa and watched him wobble away to surer steps, trusting that it would be okay. I am not religious but I could not help finding something utterly poetic about this end of my journey with the little white dog.

2 Responses to “The Little White Dog.”

  1. Samir February 21, 2015 at 3:17 am #

    I almost hit a dog once. Made me feel bad for a long time.

    You did good.

    🙂

  2. Bishal April 17, 2015 at 7:44 am #

    there’s a vet clinic near Hydro Lab pulchowk, if u ever need one again, around that place 🙂

Leave a comment